Ticket #41938

Barbarian Leader's Ransom is 27, not 100 (civ2civ3, 3.0.0-beta1+ 2076671629)

Open Date: 2021-04-08 00:12 Last Update: 2021-04-18 12:15

Reporter:
Owner:
Type:
Status:
Closed
Component:
MileStone:
Priority:
5 - Medium
Severity:
5 - Medium
Resolution:
Fixed
File:
6

Details

The help text for Barbarian Leader says:

When a Barbarian Leader is killed on a tile without any defending units, the 100 gold ransom is paid, but only to land units and helicopters.

In the attached savegame, there is a Barbarian Leader at tgt="unit" id=2643 name="Barbarian Leader" / and Riflemen next to him. If you use the Riflemen to kill him, you only get 27 gold.

Ticket History (3/16 Histories)

2021-04-08 00:12 Updated by: chippo
  • New Ticket "Barbarian Leader's Randsom is 27, not 100 (civ2civ3, 3.0.0-beta1+ 2076671629)" created
2021-04-08 00:24 Updated by: cazfi
  • Milestone Update from (None) to 2.6.5
  • Component Update from (None) to Documentation
Comment

Reading the source code it seems that ransom is victim's money, or ruleset defined ransom_gold at max. So if the barbarian player has less than 100 gold, you get only what he has. This needs documenting.

2021-04-08 12:33 Updated by: cazfi
Comment

Documenting this in ruleset comments (developer documentation) split to new ticket -> #41943

Reserving this ticket for help (user documentation) updates.

2021-04-08 12:54 Updated by: cazfi
  • Resolution Update from None to Accepted
2021-04-09 18:44 Updated by: cazfi
  • Summary Updated
2021-04-12 17:35 Updated by: alain_bkr
Comment

3.beta1

I am 99% sure that when there are 2 barbarian leaders on the same tile, and no other unit, i did not get 200 gold , but zero instead. (both killed with one land unit)

Maybe i was very unlucky and barbarian treasure was 0 ?

2021-04-12 19:00 Updated by: cazfi
Comment

When there is 2 barbarian leaders in the same tile, neither of them is alone... I've had changing that in my TODO for years.

2021-04-18 01:20 Updated by: alain_bkr
Comment

i tested a patch to get 200 for 2 leaders, as the doc says 'if there are no other defending unit' :-) I works for me, i can provide a test game.

(Edited, 2021-04-18 01:20 Updated by: alain_bkr)
2021-04-18 01:39 Updated by: cazfi
Comment

Opened a new ticket about the more-than-one-leader case -> #42020

2021-04-18 12:15 Updated by: cazfi
  • Status Update from Open to Closed
  • Owner Update from (None) to cazfi
  • Resolution Update from Accepted to Fixed

Edit

You are not logged in. I you are not logged in, your comment will be treated as an anonymous post. » Login